Data Projects

Rajya Sabha Dataset

TCPD–RSD dataset is a corpus of data concerning all members of the Rajya Sabha of India

The Rajya Sabha Dataset is a corpus of data concerning all members of the Rajya Sabha of India from March 1952 to 20 July 2022. The data comes from the official website of the Rajya Sabha ( This official website contains information about members’ political history, positions held, sociological information, etc. We first extracted this information, and then cleaned and structured it to fit into a tabular format.

Each individual member of the Rajya Sabha has been assigned a unique identification number (PID) to help track their political history. We have made the greatest of efforts to keep this PID common across the Rajya Sabha and Lok Dhaba datasets. This means that if an individual
contested any seat in the national-level General Elections (GE), state-level Assembly Elections (AE), and/or Rajya Sabha Elections, they will ideally have the same PID across all TCPD datasets. However, please let us know if we might have missed out on a few individuals.


If a variable(s) drawn from the TCDP-RSD dataset plays an important role in your project (published or unpublished), please use all the suggested citations below: 

We Thank our Colleagues-Dipanita Malik, Supriya Sanjay, and Priyamvada Trivedi who provided invaluable assistance to the project.

“TCPD Rajya Sabha dataset (TCPD-RSD), 1952 – 2022”.
Trivedi Centre for Political Data, Ashoka University.

“TCPD Rajya Sabha Dataset (TCPD-RSD), 1952-2022 Codebook 1.20”, Trivedi Centre for Political Data, Ashoka University

Ananay Agarwal, Neelesh Agrawal, Saloni Bhogale, Shivam Gangwani, Vedant Jumle, Shruti Kraleti, Mohit Kumar,Gilles Verniers.